That Day

That day

 

Your hands felt like peaches, smooth and soft

 

You would hold my hand so I wouldn’t fall down

 

Time changed

 

It was like a test

 

A test that would help me stay happy

 

You yelled at me when you got mad

 

But I still stayed happy

 

You told me never to talk back when I wished to

 

But I still stayed happy

 

You taught me to always care for the old

 

One day you became very sick

 

But I still had faith and stayed happy

 

You held my hand

 

That day was different

 

I saw you at your weakest moment

 

So sick it felt as if you were going to die

 

I prayed and prayed to God to help you

 

When you would come back from the hospital

 

I would stay beside you the whole time

 

I would never eat alone

 

In a worry that something might happen to you

 

I didn’t tell you this because I didn’t want to see you cry

 

All I need is your love and prayer so that you and I can walk in paradise together

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *